The Former President – Ratu Epeli Nailatikau, is the new Speaker of Parliament.

Government Whip – Alvick Maharaj nominated Ratu Epeli.

Opposition Whip – Lynda Tabuya, nominated SODELPA candidate – Tanya Waqanika.

Ratu Epeli was elected as Speaker, after getting 30 votes.

Waqanika got 21 votes.

A minute of silence was also observed in Parliament this morning to remember the late Speaker of Parliament Dr Jiko Luveni.

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt
Fiji TV Subscribe

Don't miss the HSBC Sevens Series LIVE on Fiji One.