Shot putter Tom Walsh has been named the supreme winner at the Halberg Sports awards in Auckland tonight.

Walsh was recognised for his outstanding achievements in 2018 including victories at the World Indoor Championship, Commonwealth Games and Diamond League events.

He edged out freeskier Nico Porteous and motor racers Scott McLaughlin and Scott Dixon to claim the Sportsman of the Year category for the second year in a row.

Walsh was then named the supreme winner ahead of sportswoman of the year kayaker Lisa Carrington, skier Adam Hall who won the para athlete award and the Black Fern sevens who were named team of the year.

Carrington won the Sportswoman of the Year award for her third year running with the canoe racer claiming a gold and three silver medals at the Canoe Sprint World Champs and was named ahead of squash player Joelle King, horse rider Jonelle Price and snowboarder Zoi Sadowski-Synnott.

Hall beat swimmer Sophie Pascoe, canoe racer Scott Martlew and fellow alpine skier Corey Peters for the para-athlete award.

The Black Ferns women’s sevens team which won the Sevens Rugby World Cup and gold at the Commonwealth Games collected the hotly contested award ahead of the NZ Football Under 17 Women Team, NZ Women’s Kayaking Team, Vantage Black Sticks Women and All Blacks Sevens.

Gordon Walker – Lisa Carrington’s coach – was named coach of the year for the third consecutive year seeing off Allan Bunting of the Black Ferns Sevens, Clark Laidlaw of the All Black Sevens, Leon Birnie coach of the Under 17 Women’s football team and Ireland rugby coach Joe Schmidt.

Shot putter Maddison-Lee Wesche won the Emerging Talent following her gold medal success at the Under 20 IAAF World Championships.

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt
Fiji TV Subscribe

Don't miss the HSBC Sevens Series LIVE on Fiji One.