The swearing-in Ceremony for the newly appointed Commissioners for Oaths and Justices of the Peace was held at the Grand Pacific Hotel in Suva yesterday.

Speaking at the ceremony, Chief Justice Anthony Gates said that the oath-taking was a solemn occasion of which one must remember and to bind each one to act honestly, and impartially, remembering to serve all of the people in their area without regard to any differences seen in race, religion or political views.

“I and my colleagues on the Bench today are here because we value your proposed service and wish to mark the occasion,” the Chief Justice Gates said.

“Your role is important in the State and its administration. I can foresee that that role will increase.”

He added that Lay Commissioners, that is non-lawyer Commissioners which can be appointed by the Chief Justice pursuant to section 144(1) of the Legal Practitioners Act.

This was the category of Commissioners being appointed and sworn in today. A total of 12 Commissioners for Oaths were sworn in today, and 143 Justices of the Peace, 57 of whom are District Officers.

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt
Fiji TV Subscribe

Don't miss the HSBC Sevens Series LIVE on Fiji One.