Former Kiwis captain Mark Graham has been named as one of six inductees into the NRL Hall of Fame, the first New Zealander to be included.

Graham, a North Sydney stalwart and New Zealand Test captain in the 1980s, played 105 games for Norths between 1981-1988.

He was named New Zealand’s player of the century in 2007.

Graham joins Petero Civoniceva, Cliff Lyons, Steve Menzies, Ricky Stuart and Gorden Tallis in being recognised for their playing achievements and will join the 100 inaugural members from 2008.

Longevity, individual achievements and representative appearances all played a key role in the recognition of the six.

Front rower Civoniceva was known for his uncompromising approach on the field but for being a gentleman off it and logged 309 NRL games between Brisbane and Penrith as well as 33 Origins for Queensland.

Former Manly teammates Lyons (332) and Menzies (349) were at the core of a strong Sea Eagles team in the 1990s.

Stuart was a scheming halfback who spent much of his career with Canberra and played 14 State of Origins for NSW and nine tests for Australia before embarking on a coaching career.

Tallis was perhaps the most dominant forward in the competition during the mid to late 1990s with the Brisbane Broncos and went on to shine for both the Maroons and Queensland.

The six will be formally inducted at a ceremony at the Sydney Cricket Ground on August 1.


Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt
Fiji TV Subscribe

Don't miss the HSBC Sevens Series LIVE on Fiji One.