The Fiji Airways Fijian 7s touring squad to travel to the London and Paris legs have been named and Head Coach Gareth Baber says the boys are prepared and ready for the battle ahead.

Baber has maintained his core playing group from the last two series, but welcomes the return of key playmaker Waisea Nacuqu who has recovered from a collar-bone fracture sustained in Las Vegas and has worked hard to be fit for the final stage.

“We know the challenge ahead of us. We have a mission going into the next two tournaments and I believe the players named in the squad are ready to deliver at the London 7s next weekend.” he said.

Captain Paula Dranisinukula will steer the forward pack flanked by the consistent and in form Sevuloni Mocenecagi, Josua Vakurinabili and Ratu Meli Derenelagi.

Livai Ikanikoda and Napolioni Ratu have been given the nod again after solid performances in the Hong Kong and Singapore 7s last month.

Jerry Tuwai has overcome the hamstring injury that hampered his Singapore tournament and fans will be excited to see Filimoni Botitu and Aminiasi Tuimaba continue their strong debut season for Fiji.

Fiji sits second on the HSBC World Sevens Series standings with 142 points, three points behind current leaders USA.

Baber said “We know there’s a lot of expectation around this tournament, but pressure is just a perception, it’s not real, and it’s up to us to keep our minds on what we have to do to play our way and execute what we want to do as a team on the park.”

The Fiji Airways Fijian 7s may travel to their London 7s preparation camp without Head Coach Gareth Baber who is suffering from a bacterial infection.

The team leaves for the UK on Wednesday and Baber is expected to join them in London on Friday.

Fiji sit in Pool B and faces Kenya in its first pool match at 9.36pm {FJT} on Saturday the 25th of May then plays France at 12.42am {FJT} the following day before meeting Samoa in its final Pool C match at 3.48am {FJT}.

Fiji Airways Fijian 7s tournament team for the 2019 London 7s.

1. Sevuloni Mocenacagi
2. Josua Vakurinabili
3. Isoa Tabu
4. Paula Dranisinukula (C)
5. Apenisa Cakaubalavu
6. Ratu Meli Derenalagi
7. Filimoni Botitu
8. Livai Ikanikoda
9. Jerry Tuwai
10. Alasio Naduva
11. Aminiasi Tuimaba
12. Waisea Nacuqu
13. Napolioni Ratu
14. Asaeli Tuivoka

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt
Fiji TV Subscribe

Don't miss the HSBC Sevens Series LIVE on Fiji One.