England have named men’s and women’s squads for the Rugby World Cup Sevens in San Francisco from 20-22 July.

The 12-strong men’s squad, runners-up in Moscow in 2013, includes six players who won Olympic silver medals with Team GB in Rio.

Tom Mitchell captains the side, which also features England’s all-time leading try-scorer Dan Norton.

Abbie Brown leads an experienced women’s side, who start as the eighth seeds with the men seeded fourth.

England’s men, seeded behind South Africa, Fiji and New Zealand, play their first game on Saturday, 21 July at 04:09 BST against the winner of Samoa v Uganda.

England women, who won bronze along with the men at the Commonwealth Games in April, kick-off their campaign against ninth seed Ireland at 20:12 BST on Friday, 20 July.

Five of England’s Rugby World Cup finalists from 2017 – Vicky Fleetwood, Emily Scarratt, Natasha Hunt, Amy Wilson Hardy and Alex Matthews – are also named in head coach James Bailey’s squad.

The tournament, which will be held at AT&T Park, follows a straight knockout format, meaning that teams will have to win every match to be crowned World Cup winners.

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt
Fiji TV Subscribe

Don't miss the HSBC Sevens Series LIVE on Fiji One.