World Rugby and the French Rugby Federation (FFR) have announced that the final round of this season’s HSBC World Rugby Women’s Sevens Series will be hosted in Biarritz on 15-16 June 2019.

The strategic move from Paris to Parc des Sports Aguiléra, home of Biarritz Olympique, will enable the FFR to maximise the visibility, attendance and impact of hosting the final round of the record-breaking series at a time when women’s rugby in France is on a high.

It has been a stellar year for France, winning the silver medal at Rugby World Cup Sevens 2018, a first 15s win over New Zealand and Jessy Trémoulière scooping the World Rugby Women’s Player of the Year accolade in Monaco last month.

World Rugby Chairman Bill Beaumont said: “Like our friends at the FFR, we are committed to providing the world’s top rugby players with the best-possible stage in which to showcase their talent.

“With Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games qualification on the line, providing both the men’s and women’s series finales with a stand-alone tournament reflects our ambition to maximise global viewership and engagement impact.

“With the HSBC World Rugby Women’s Sevens Series going from strength to strength, reaching and converting new fans around the world, hosting the final round in this popular rugby venue provides a real opportunity for a very special series finale in an iconic rugby city.”

Bernard Laporte, President of the FFR today said: “The Aguilera Stadium in Biarritz will host the final event of this particularly important season of the Women’s Sevens as it will crown the winners of the Series 2018/19 but also determine the top four teams which will qualify for the Tokyo 2020 Olympics and be officially announced after this final leg. Stade Aguilera, an iconic rugby venue in France, is a perfect match for this great international event. I know that many fans will come to encourage these women’s rugby teams and that the entertainment will be on the field as in the stands.”

The top four teams from both the men’s and women’s HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series will gain automatic qualification to the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games and the men’s finale will take place at Stade Jean Bouin on 1-2 June 2019.

(Source:World Rugby)

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt
Fiji TV Subscribe

Don't miss the HSBC Sevens Series LIVE on Fiji One.