The New Zealand Māori Rugby Board has welcomed the appointment of
four new Board members during their Annual General Meeting and
celebrated a successful year of Māori Rugby.

NZMRB Chair Dr Farah Palmer said Cushla Tangaere-Manuel, Arran Pene,
Andre Baker and Andre Thompson are valued additions to the NZMRB and
will ensure the continued growth and development that has been achieved.

The number of Māori rugby players numbers continued to grow in 2019,
with a two percent increase on the previous year to 43,090 players.

Arran Pene is an independent member, Cushla Tangaere-Manuel an
appointed member, Andre Baker the Chair of Te Tini a Maui and Andre
Thompson Chair of Te Waipounamu.

Former All Black and Māori All Black, Pene brings a wealth of rugby
and governance experience to the Board table, as does Tangaere-Manuel
who is the current CEO of the East Coast Rugby Football Union.

Thompson holds several governance positions within rugby and Māori
organisations and has taken the role as Chair of Te Waipounamu, while
Baker, a former Horowhenua Kapiti representative player, also adds his
extensive rugby experience as Chair of Te Tini a Maui.

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt
Fiji TV FRESH TV on Fiji 1

Don't miss FRESH on Fiji One.