Fijian government has acknowledged the relief assistance provided by the New
Zealand Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade (NZMFAT) that would help uplift
the lives of those in the Lau Group in the Eastern Divisions, who have been
affected by Tropical Cyclones Sarai and Tino.

Fiji National Disaster Management team and government officials have been
deployed to the Southern Lau Group, yesterday to provide relief supplies to
families who have been affected by the recent natural disasters.

this partnership, NZMFAT and the New Zealand High Commission in Fiji is working
closely with the Fiji National Disaster Management Office (NDMO) in conducting
a detailed damaged assessment in the Lau Island Group and also in the
procurement and delivery of food rations targeting 5,412 people for one month.

The assistance worth $254,471.40 is provided through the New Zealand Aid Programme.

commending this assistance, the Minister for Foreign Affairs, Defence and
National Security, Hon. Inia Seruiratu has conveyed the Fijian Government’s
appreciation and gratitude to the New Zealand Government for its great

Seruiratu said the assistance will contribute significantly towards
rehabilitation efforts and rebuilding the livelihood of families affected by TC
Sarai and TC Tino.

Seruiratu stated that the assistance by New Zealand is a reflection of their
commitment and support for the welfare and wellbeing of the Fijian

neighbours in the Pacific region, Fiji and New Zealand have demonstrated great
partnership in building economic resilience and sustainable development.

and New Zealand also share a common vision in the area of resilience building
and climate change adaptation as seen through the strong leadership of PM
Bainimarama and PM Arden.

Fiji National Disaster Management Office is coordinating the rehabilitation
program for Lau Group through a multi-partner mission consisting of a dedicated
team of approximately 80 personnel, including officials from the

Commissioner for Eastern Office, Roko Tui Lau Office, Fiji Red Cross,
Education, RFMF, Ministry of Health, Water Authority of Fiji, Ministry of
Agriculture, Department of Energy, Offices of the Prime Minister – Construction
Implementation Unit, Department of Government Buildings and Architect, Fiji
Roads Authority, Telecom Fiji, Agriculture Marketing Authority, Department of
Energy, Department of Housing, Ministry of Women, University of the South
Pacific – School of Geospatial Science and Fiji Council of Social Services.

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt
Fiji TV Subscribe

Don't miss the HSBC Sevens Series LIVE on Fiji One.