Fiji Airways Fijian Drua Head Coach Senirusi Seruvakula knows his young side head into Sunday’s semi-final clash against the Canberra Vikings as the under dogs, but is confident his 23 man squad, will bring everything they’ve got to the contest.

Whilst only minor changes to the side that overcame QLD Country in Sigatoka last week, 13 players will experience their first NRC final series.

Seruvakula said “(This week’s game against Canberra) is a totally different ball game.”

“We are taking one of the youngest teams in the competition and will carry the underdog tag against a tough opponent in the Vikings.

“This Drua team is still a development squad as we have been filling in the vacuum left by our experienced players, but they’ve got plenty of fight in them.

“I have trust in this set of players, they have done the job this year by reaching the last four and I hope we can maintain our performance in the weekend” said Seruvakula.

No major changes to the forward pack for the Drua with Ulaiasi Lawavou in at 6 replacing Filimoni Seru who received a three match suspension following a late challenge against Qld Country.

In the backs, Juita Wainiqolo shifts to left wing with Levani Kurimudu on the right. Caleb Muntz gets his biggest start at full-back replacing Apisalome Waqatabu, who is unavailable for the match.

Peni Matawalu, who was concussed in a try saving tackle at Lawaqa Park last week, has been declared fit and will partner Enele Malele at the halves while Serupepeli Vularika and Cyril Reece maintain their midfield combination.

Exciting try scorer Nacaniela Narekuva returns to the squad at 23.

Seruvakula said the Vikings will come out all guns blazing at home.

“We need to be very careful on our approach, the players need to do the basics right, capitalize on the chances given and have discipline for the whole 80 minutes” he said.

The Fiji Airways Fijian Drua faces Canberra Vikings – 4pm on Sunday at Viking Park, Canberra, Australia.

Fijian Drua Team VS Canberra Vikings


  1. Joeli Veitayaki
  2. Tevita Ikanivere
  3. Penijamini Makutu
  4. Tevita Naqali
  5. Peni Naulago
  6. Ulaiasi Lawavou
  7. Johnny Dyer
  8. Eremasi Radrodro
  9. Peni Matawalu
  10. Enele Malele
  11. Juita Wainiqolo
  12. Serupepeli Vularika
  13. Cyril Reece
  14. Levani Kurumudu
  15. Caleb Muntz
Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt
Fiji TV FRESH TV on Fiji 1

Don't miss FRESH on Fiji One.